For Real Time Updates and Better ExperienceDownload the app Now!
Download the app Now!

Lok Sabha phase 3 polling concludes at around 60%; dull turnout in Gujarat

Updated: May 7th, 2024

Lok Sabha Election phase 3

Polling in the third phase of the Lok Sabha elections has concluded today, and the turnout numbers are out for the states till 5 p.m.

The elections took place on 93 constituencies in 11 states including Gujarat, Karnataka, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Goa, Dadra Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

Gujarat records 55.22% polling

Polling in Gujarat was topped by Valsad with 68.12%, followed by Banaskantha with 64.48%, and Chhotaudepur at 63.76% till 5 pm.

The lowest turnout was recorded in Amreli at 45.59% in the state. Closely hovering by was Porbandar, with its below average turnout of 46.51%.

66.05% in Karnataka

Karnataka today recorded 66.05% voting for its remaining 14 Lok Sabha seats, where polling was held in the fifth round of the General Elections, as of 5 p.m., officials said.

The bye-election for the Shorapur Assembly constituency in Yadgir District, also being held simultaneously, recorded 66.72% turnout.

75% in Assam

Polling was held in four Lok Sabha constituencies in Assam during the third phase today - Kokrajhar (ST), Dhubri, Barpeta, and Guwahati - recording a voter turnout of around 75%, as per provisional figures issued by the poll panel.

With the completion of polling in four Lok Sabha seats in Assam today, elections in all the 25 parliamentary constituencies in the eight northeastern states have been completed now.

In the first phase on Apr 19, Tripura recorded the highest turnout at 81.48%, followed by Sikkim (79.88%), Assam (78.25%), Arunachal Pradesh (77.68%), Meghalaya (76.60%), Manipur (76.10%), Nagaland (57.72%), and Mizoram (56.87.%).

In the second phase on April 26, Manipur registered the maximum voter turnout at 84.85%, followed by Assam (81.17%), and Tripura (80.36%).

Other states:

Bihar (5 seats) - 56.01%

Chhattisgarh (7 seats) - 66.87%

Dadra Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu (2 seats) - 65.23%

Goa (2 seats) - 72.52%

Madhya Pradesh (9 seats) - 62.28%

Maharashtra (11 seats) - 53.40%

Uttar Pradesh (10 seats) - 55.13%

West Bengal (4 seats) - 73.93%

Also read:

Gujarat records 47.03% voting till 3 pm, highest in Valsad

Gujarat records 37.83% voting till 1 pm, highest in Banaskantha

Gujarat records 9.87% voting till 9 am