For Real Time Updates and Better ExperienceDownload the app Now!
Download the app Now!

Assembly bypolls: INDIA bloc wins four seats, BJP settles for three

Updated: Sep 9th, 2023

Voters in queue for voting in 2023 By Elections (img: IANS)

The bypoll elections results were looked keenly upon, as this was the first direct face-off between the NDA and the INDIA bloc, showcasing a significant insight to the general elections scheduled in 2024.

While BJP secured three seats, INDIA bloc got four.

Assembly Bypoll Results (img: IANS)

BJP retains Uttarakhand’s Bageshwar

The BJP on Sept 8 retained the Bageshwar assembly seat in Uttarakhand by defeating Congress with over 2,000 votes.

BJP candidate Parwati Das defeated Congress’ Basant Kumar by 2,321 votes.

BJP sweeps Tripura bypolls

The ruling BJP also won both the left stronghold Dhanpur and Boxanagar assembly constituencies, thrashing its CPI (M) rivals with massive margins of votes.

Election officials said that BJP candidate Taffajal Hossain, with 34,146 votes, won in Boxanagar by a margin of 30,237 votes, while the party’s Bindu Debnath (30,017 votes) won the Dhanpur constituency by a margin of 18871 votes.

The Congress and the Tipra Motha Party (TMP), the other two main opposition parties in the state, did not field candidates to prevent division of vote share. Congress leaders campaigned for the CPI-M candidates, under the INDIA alliance.

The West Bengal political see-saw continues in Dhupguri bypolls

Trinamool’s Nirmal Chandra Roy, with a 2.53% vote surge, emerged winner in the constituency where party candidate Mitali Roy suffered defeat in 2021.

On the other hand, the BJP candidate for the bypoll, Tapasi Roy, witnessed a 1.42% negative swing from that of the winning party candidate late Bishnu Pada Roy in 2021.

West Bengal’s bipolar equation between the voters’ choice to elect either Trinamool Congress or BJP’s candidate continued in this bypoll.

The results also showed that the voters are still not considering the Congress-Left Front alliance as an alternative.

UP’s Ghosi seat produces a new winner, from  the same party

The Samajwadi Party (SP) retained its Ghosi assembly seat in the by election in a direct fight with BJP’s Dara Singh Chauhan, a winner from this seat in the 2022 assembly polls, who had left SP to join the BJP in July this year.

A dynasty discends in Kerala’s Puthuppally

Congress’ Chandy Oommen, son of former Kerala CM Oommen Chandy who represented the Puthuppally assembly constituency for a record 53 years, won his debut election from the seat with a record breaking majority of 37,719 votes, a record previously held by his late father.

The Congress called it a crushing blow on CPI(M) CM Pinarayi Vijayan, while the CPI(M) dubbed it a sympathy wave for Congress.

With this third failure in succession, Thomas has become the first candidate to lose against a father and son.

(Source: IANS)

-Edited for style

For more such updates and news on the go, follow us on

Instagram | YouTube | Facebook