For Real Time Updates and Better ExperienceDownload the app Now!
Download the app Now!

Rajkot game zone fire: Six officials suspended

Updated: May 27th, 2024

Amid the tragic TRP game zone fire in Rajkot that claimed 28 lives, six officials have been suspended by the authorities on May 26.

According to reports, after the Rajkot fire incident, Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel visited the Rajkot game zone site. Following an inspection, he gave instructions for strict action against those responsible for the incident.

On his orders, two assistant engineers, two deputy engineers, and two police inspectors have been suspended. 

The fire incident allegedly happened due to a lack of proper authorization or adherence to essential safety protocols such as fire safety measures and exit-entry gate inspections during the establishment of the gaming zone.

Who was suspended?

Gautam Joshi - assistant town planner

Jaydeep Chaudhari- assistant engineer

MR Suma- deputy executive engineer (R&B)

Paras Kothiya- temporary assistant (R&B)

VR Patel- police inspector

NI Rathod- police inspector

In an investigation, Rajkot taluka police revealed evidence against six accused Dhaval Thakkar, Ashoksinh Jadeja, Kiritsinh Jadeja, Prakashchandra Hirani, Yuvrajsinh Solanki, and Rahul Rathod.

They were charged under IPC sections 304 (culpable homicide), 308 (attempt to culpable homicide), 337 (causing hurt by act endangering life), 338 (causing grievous hurt by act endangering life), and 114 (abettor present).

Yuvrajsinh and Nitin have been detained.

Also read:

How the TRP gamezone in Rajkot caught fire? CCTV footage revealed

Rajkot fire tragedy: Seven members of same family among victims